top of page

DIALOGUE PROMPT:


“I never stood a chance, did I?”

“That’s the sad part - you did once.”

I looked around frantically, seeing if the coast was clear. The school grounds was clear from afar, if you don’t count the number of parked cars barley aligned the yellow markers. I peeked out the opened window as it creeked. Carefully and quietly I squeezed through the sills. The drop was merely three feet down. Fortunately I’ve managed to take english around this hour near the entry ways. Too bad they were guarded. The entrance doors weren’t that far, but good thing everyone but me didn’t care to show up for class. Otherwise things could have gotten messy with those guards. I was halfway there sticking my head out of the building, until there was a loud thud. Outside the classroom, from what I could hear, it was muffled. After the thud, there was a blood curdling cry.

The scream disturbed me to the brim that, I almost fell head first. Grabbing the plane glass to prevent that, it made a sudden cracking sound. A drop of blood splattered on my nose. I looked up to my hand and noticed it was burning red. However, I recognized it wasn’t bleeding, but just my stress of my hands from clinging the glass too much. I moved it over a little to see a crack underneath it. A warm sigh escaped my breath, but then I felt another sudden cold drop on my head. Sweat? I thought. I was dead wrong. Looking up above me there were at least two more windows above me, the first window right above held a sight of a head and body rested among the sides. Its arms dangled downward toward me as if it wanted to embrace me. I would accept the hug if the eyes weren’t white as snow. Footsteps boomed the hallway, right then I lifted my other leg out of its space. With a light thump I landed with my legs. Like a doe in open season, I made a dash in the parking lot.

I could’ve sworn my heart just jumped up to my throat, because I could barely catch my breath. My mind’s main priority repeated the words “Run” like a broken record. Right before I stepped the fresh grass at the end of the parking lot entering the highway, a loud explosion caused the ground to shake and trembled my feet. Stumbling a little I almost collapsed, though my escape was still a success. After running who knows how long, I finally slowed down to a parking lot, many blocks away from the school I previously abandoned. It’s almost amazing how far I ran from point A to B. Too bad there was nobody else to witness that, I thought. Trudging through the last steps of grass, I plopped myself down on a set of swings. The bars holding the swing set trembled, it’d be no surprise since it was made for toddlers.

After resting my worn out legs, I finally had the time for myself to actually ponder. I thought of what I’ve just done. My sight was getting hazy, it wasn’t long until I felt something running down my cheeks. Tears...I mused. It must be. What else would I have felt? The only emotion that’s acceptable to be in a situation, despite it being my fault in the first place. With glistening eyes, I looked up to see the lake right in front of me. Ironically at the other side, there I saw the same familiar building sitting in the distance. Where it was still faint I could hear the sirens of police cars and ambulance trucks parked near the lot. It was almost nightfall and the blazing sun made a silhouette reflection in the lake. All I saw were just the lights of red and blue flickering over the water.

“I never stood a chance...Did I?” I finally spoke. I didn’t expect a response, so my voice was out of tune from all the crackling from my tears. Without any warning another voice came from behind me that made my entire body freeze in ice.

“That’s the sad part…” It told me. “...You did once.”

I didn’t care to look back because right then, I recognized that tone of voice. The voice that haunted me for so long. The voice of reason why I even cared to stand up to that bully in the first place. If I hadn’t had the chance to take him out a second time, none of this would’ve happened. All because of a stupid dare. An old enemy I created, that I never intended. I wonder where he could be right now?

Plot twist: The reader was you.


bottom of page